Pesto!

Pesto is yummy.

I try to make a big load once a year and keep it in the freezer.  (It helps if you have a friend with an organic farm like we do – pick a supermarket-bag full of basil leaves).  Pesto is simple to make.

I find the quality of the produce makes a big difference. The basil is always fresh. We go for top end Parmesan, fresh New Zealand Garlic and local olive oil.

Ingredients

For every 2 packed cups of Basil leaves,

2-3 clove of garlic

1/3 cup pine nut

1/3 cup grated Parmesan

1/3 cup olive oil.

Good pinch of sea salt.

Chuck it all in the mixer. Pulse at high speed.

I keep mine in the freezer. I’ve had pesto stay good frozen for more than a year. I mainly use this for my super simple pesto chicken recipe which is a house hold favorite and one sure to impress.

The ingredients for pesto can be expensive. Pine nuts are often sold in much larger packets than needed. I don’t use pine nuts often. I have found  pine nuts tend to go stale in the pantry. I double bag excess pine nuts in zip lock bags and keep in the freezer. JW.

090517_pesto1

One thought on “Pesto!

  1. This is a great post Louise, I love that you freeze the pesto… never thought to do that, but then, never had access to supermarket bags full of basil…maybe one day!

Leave a Reply

