Bedtime ranting

Sabina has been relocated to another cot.  In another room, to prevent the babies waking up with her middle-of-the-night and bedtime ranting and raving.  We made the decision to move her after a roudy 3am session on Sunday night whereby she began murmuring, then progressively more loudly repeatedly (repeatedly, repeatedly) saying “I want to brush my TEETH!

I duly go into her room (stirring Lido awake) and try to calm her down, but she only screams even louder “My TEETH! I WANNA BRUSH MY TEETH!”  Opps, today Sabina had some Easter eggs and juice and I totally pestered her to brush her teeth as soon as she was finished.  Justin attends to an increasingly hysterical Lido, then a grumpy Thomi also wakes up and starts to cry.  I pluck Sabina out of her cot and hurriedly rush her into the bathroom.  I frantically search for her toohbrush (bathtub? no, shower? no, handbasin? no, toy basket? no, under the mountain of laundry? no, under the bean bag? YES!), then I repeat the routine finding the toothpaste, before offering her the brush to brush her teeth. She stares at me with a look that says “Are you crazy?“, then she gets terribly upset that I am trying brush her teeth.

I guess she is still sort of dreaming and not quite awake or aware of herself .  I take her back to her cot and settle her in. “My HAIR! I got sand in my HAIR!”  she begins.  Hmmm, during the day I told her I was searching for sand in her hair when really I was checking her for headlice.  She repeats the sand in hair rant ten times or so before turning over and returning to sleep.  We eventually calm the babies and get them back in their cots. An hour has passed.

Last night we put her in the cot in the playroom instead of in the shared room.  Our thinking was that at least if she woke up, the babies would be less likely to hear her.  At around 3am she starts up again “Hey! My slipper came off! My slipper came off! MY SLIPPER CAME OFFFFFFFFFFFFFF!” Brand new slippers bought today. This is repeated 30 or so times.  I go down to her and put her slipper back on her. Very happy with this she returns to sleep. Phew, at least she is in another room so the twins didn’t wake up.  Til dawn, when Daylight Savings lag wakes them both at 5am. Wide awake.  Early start.

Tonight,  bedtime, a little wired about the fact that Justin and I are just in the next room, Sabina starts this up this wee chestnut:

Sabina: “I want to watch Poi e, Mama, I want to watch Poi e”

Me: No Sabina, it is time for bed.

Sabina:”I wanna watch Poi e, Mama, I wanna to watch Poi e”  (italics = increasing whining voice)

Me: No Sabina, I told you before it is time for bed.

Sabina:I wanna watch Poi e, Mama, pleeeeeeease?” (bold = increasingly loud voice)

Me: No. It’s bedtime.

Sabina: ” I WANNA WATCH  POI E, IWANNA WAS POI E, IWANNA WA POI E, INAWA POI E, INAWA POI E, INAWA POI E, INAWA POI E, INAWA POI E, INAWA POI E, INAWA POI E, INAWA POI E, INAWA POI E, INAWA POI E, INAWA POI E!!!!!” (BOLD + ITALICS = INCREASINGLY LOUD AND WHINING VOICE)

Hmmm, I wonder if tonight there will be more bedtime ranting?

7 thoughts on “Bedtime ranting

  1. This sounds exhausting! Hilarious at any other time of day, but those wee small hours – not the time for chatting or ranting. Not sure where you find the energy, but kia kaha to you! Hope the separate rooms works for long enough to break the cycle.

  2. Yikes! I guess my dreams of a time in the distant future when I get a full night’s sleep are never going to happen 😦

  3. oooh, loulou, there was a very relevant doc on t.v lastnight (coincidently!) about children ranting in their sleep. Not considered nightmares or night terrors, but a bizzaire semi-sleep state where they are re-living events from the day. It was so interesting…

    • Ohhh Amy that sounds interesting – they didn’t happen to mention how best to deal with it? Or prevent it? Sabina also gets night terrors and I read that is to do with being overtired. So that sometimes happens if she has not had a daytime sleep.

      • I will ring you – Lily has been having night terrors for a couple of years now, not nice…this doc differentiated between night terrors (usually in the first few hours of sleep and while the child is in deep sleep) with these other crazy awakenings which usually occur in the early hours and are similar to being in state of meditation – awake but not with it. We have been advised not to wake Lily while she is having a night terror, just try to re-settle her, which seems to work well. We need to catch up anyway – good excuse! xx

  4. Cheers, our home phone is bung – i’ll give the lovely people a ring now to see if I can find out why…

Leave a Reply

