Anzac Biscuits

Today was Anzac Day.  No dawn service for us, though indeed I was awake at about that time.

I made Anzac biscuits from the hardcover pictorial Edmonds, while mum made Anzac biscuits from the spiral bound version.  The two recipes are quite different.  Mum thought hers were better (her exact words were “They’re not better than mine”) but she prefers crunchy biscuits and I like them sort of soft and eaten still warm.   I think Mum was tired from scanning photos for me all weekend long for my Grandad and Pāpā posts (thanks Mum!).

Now my sister in London wants the recipe so I’m going to list something of a meeting point between the two Edmonds versions.  My theory is that for the modified version 2, they eliminated all quantities that were thirds measures and swapped them to the closest quarter measures.  Then they amped up the butter too.  For this version I will additionally amp up the coconut:

ANZAC BISCUITS

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 cup coconut
  • 3/4 rolled oats
  • 65 grams butter (melted)
  • 1 tablespoon golden syrup
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda (bicarbonate soda)
  • 2 Tablespoons water

Preheat oven to 180degC.  Mix all dry ingredients except the baking soda together.  Mix the baking soda into the boiling water.  Melt butter with syrup.  Add all wet stuff to dry stuff and stir. Place heaped teaspoon (or flat tablespoon) quantities onto a greased tray, allowing room for the biscuits to spread out as they cook.  Flatten the biscuit dough with a fork.  Bake for about 15 mins or until golden.  The line between golden and burnt edges can be quite fine with Anzacs so watch closely near the end.

One thought on “Anzac Biscuits

  1. That’s the recipe we use too, using wholemeal flour and I LOVE that coconut! I love them fresh out the oven and kinda soft, but will happily eat them cold too, srum diddly umptious!!!

Leave a Reply

