Buttermilk breakfast pancakes

Last night after making the Buttermilk Scribble Cake I had a cup of Buttermilk left over.  As luck would have it the side of the buttermilk carton had a recipe for blueberry and lemon pancakes which required one cup of Buttermilk.  I didn’t have the berries but modified the recipe to be lemon pancakes.  I whizzed it up a night and left it made up in the fridge ready for the morning, a trick I learned from Nigella.  However I forgot to tell Justin about the mix and only remembered after I saw him finishing his breakfast.  So he took Bina and Lido up to the shower and I made myself a pancake, with Thomi running around my legs.  Nigella is ever so sensible to make the mix the night before.

BUTTERMILK LEMON PANCAKES (make up the night before required)

1 cup Buttermilk

1 cup self-rising flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tablespoon sugar

zest of a lemon

Blend all ingredients in an agee jar.  Cover and refrigerate overnight.

The next morning cook in a butterred pan and serve with a squeeze of lemon juice and brown sugar.

One thought on “Buttermilk breakfast pancakes

  1. Pingback: Domestic Scene

Leave a Reply

