Living and Eating

Today the kids and husband too are all home sick.  I made a soup from Nikki’s book Living and Eating by John Pawson and Annie Bell.  It is a Carrot and Ginger soup and frankly it rocks.  Even using oxo cubes instead of real stock and simply squeezed juice instead of actually squeezing them myself.  I only had the ingredients, not the method so basically I did the onion and ginger in the butter first then added everything else in at once.  The recipe suggested creme fraiche for serving but I didn’t have any, and it was fine without it.  I also could not locate my whizz stick so I simply mashed the carrots in when they were soft, which gave the soup an interesting texture.  But I guess blitzing the soup might be the suggestion in the book.

CARROT AND GINGER SOUP

7-8 carrots, peeled and chopped

1 large onion, peeled halved and sliced

2 tablespoons of peeled and finely chopped root ginger

1.2 litres of chicken stock

Sea salt and white peper

40 grams butter

150ml orange juice (freshly squeezed)

MELT the butter and saute the onion.  Add the ginger and sizzle a little then add all of the carrot, then stock, juice and seasoning.

Simmer til the carrot is soft…then blitz or mash to suit.  Can be served with cream, sour cream or creme fraiche – or as is.

One thought on “Living and Eating

Leave a Reply

