Breadmaker Frenchy

Yesterday at Nikki’s house she made some super sandwiches with a home-made breadmaker mixed, hand shaped, oven baked french bread.  It was not the crusty style but was magnifique anyway.  So this morning I called her and amid my kids racket I managed to scribble the recipe up to the board – sans measurement for the yeast.  Her recipe also called for bread improver, which I don’t have (and dont think I need since I use Supa-bake yeast and not active yeast) so I guessed the yeast measure as a tablespoon based on my other recipes.  In talking to her later I discovered it was a teaspoon measure, not a tablespoon, but he aha – it worked.  Next time I’ll minimise the yeast to 2 teaspoons for a more slender loaf.

Home-made breadmaker mixed, hand shaped, oven baked french bread

Preheat oven to 180deg C.

  • 310ml warm water
  • 2 tsp oil (I use Olive oil)
  • 1.5 teaspoons salt
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 3 and a third cups of flour (high grade)
  • 2 teaspoons supabake/ surebake yeast or 1 and 1/4 tsp yeast + 3/4 t bread improver.

Add add ingredients to the breadmaker pan and play the DOUGH cycle

Once finished, shape out on a floured or non stick tray into 2x long shaped breadsticks

Cook for only 20 minutes at 180 deg C.

Leave a Reply

