Salmon & Spudcakes

Yesterday Hannah delivered my new Tupperware Burger press.  I’ve been hankering over these things for years, certain that the husbands eye-rolling would reach a new orbit when I finally ordered one.  So determined I was to try it out, that sans mince in the fridge I decided to make some salmon fish cakes, inspired by Kellies guest post on Lil’magoolie.  The press is designed to make and store/ refrigerate 6 burgers.  But since I crumbed these I refrigerated them in the Fab Five sandwich keepers.

I made a few changes to the mix to suit my pantry & garden; no kumara, parsely instead of coriander.  Also I microwaved the spuds in my litre jug (gee im a Tupperholic) and I whizzed the lot, instead of mashing in my kenwood.

The resulting mix held together really well and made a huge, well formed fishcake of about 2-3 times the size of a commercial fishcake.

SALMON & SPUDCAKES

1: Whiz the following

  • Rind of one lemon
  • Chopped bunch of parsley
  • 3 peeled and cooked spuds (microwave or steam)
  • 1 finely chopped onion
  • 1 tin of pink salmon

2: Press into burger shapes (with Tupperware form or hand shape) and remove onto a floured plate

3: Crumb the fishcakes:

  • Flour the edges of each fishcake
  • Roll it in whisked egg
  • Crumb in breadcrumbs – I’ve been using the Arobake ones.  Nice and dark and crispy.

4: Refrigerate the fishcakes in sealed containers for an hour or so (or longer…)

5: Oven bake til golden, with Olive oil if you like.

 

Leave a Reply

